New Zapier CRM sync is live — push every reply straight into your pipeline. See what's new

September 27, 2026 · LegalBriefsUSA

How Many Meetings Should an SDR Book Per Month? 12 to 15 Booked, About 12 Held, and Published Targets Run from 2 to 25

A full-ramp outbound SDR should book 12 to 15 meetings a month and hold about 12 of them. Published targets run from 2 to 25, and the gap is almost entirely about channel, activity volume and what each source counts as a meeting.

The number matters because it is the denominator on every SDR hiring decision. Set it at 15 and the fully loaded cost per meeting looks reasonable. Set it at the level that median published activity actually produces and the same hire looks very different. This piece sits in our outbound benchmarks hub. It collects the published targets, checks each one against the activity it would take, and gives you the number to put in a comp plan. Every figure is linked and dated at the end.

How many meetings should an SDR book per month?

Twelve to fifteen booked for a ramped outbound SDR, which lands at 10 to 12 held after no-shows. Eight to ten booked is the honest median across large samples. Eighteen or more is top-decile work and is not a planning assumption.

Inbound is a different job and a different number. An SDR working inbound demo requests and content leads should produce 20 to 25 booked, because the prospect started the conversation. Mixing the two into one target is the most common way a comp plan gets set wrong.

Source Booked per month Held per month Sample Date on the page
Gong, average rep on calls alone 2 Not stated More than 300 million cold calls Checked 27 Sep 2026
Optifai, bottom quartile 4 to 6 Not stated 939 B2B SaaS companies, Q2 2025 to Q1 2026 Checked 27 Sep 2026
Optifai, median 8 to 10 Not stated Same Checked 27 Sep 2026
Optifai, top quartile 12 to 15 Not stated Same Checked 27 Sep 2026
Operatix 15 12, at an 80% show rate Not disclosed Published 5 Jul 2021, updated 24 Feb 2023
Gong, top quartile rep on calls alone 18 Not stated Same 300 million calls Checked 27 Sep 2026
Gradient Works, citing The Bridge Group 21 Not stated, 62% conversion noted Not disclosed on the page Published 28 Apr 2023
TAM to Target, inbound SDR 20 to 25 17 to 21 Not disclosed Published 22 Sep 2026
Each figure as published on that company’s own site or blog, checked 27 September 2026. The two Gong rows are our arithmetic on Gong’s published connect and conversion rates at a stated 800 dials a month, not a figure Gong states as a monthly target.

Read the first row and the last row together. Two meetings a month and 25 meetings a month are both defensible, published, sourced numbers. One describes an average rep working the phone only against cold lists. The other describes a rep handing calendar links to people who filled in a demo form. Anyone quoting a single SDR meeting benchmark without saying which of those two jobs they mean is quoting noise.

Why do published targets range from 2 to 25 a month?

Four variables account for nearly all of it: inbound versus outbound, single channel versus multichannel, booked versus held, and whether the number describes a target or an observed average. Change any one and the answer moves by a factor of three.

Inbound versus outbound is the largest. Operatix puts inbound lead handling at 15 leads a day, and reports that high-intent inbound such as a demo request converts at 75% to 80% while low-intent content leads convert at 5% to 10%. No outbound motion converts anywhere near 75%, so an inbound rep clears a target that would break an outbound rep.

Booked versus held is the quietest one and the one that causes arguments at the end of the month. Operatix models a 20% dropout, so 15 booked becomes 12 held. If the comp plan pays on booked and the board reads held, the same rep is at 100% and at 80% of the same target in the same week.

How much activity does 12 meetings a month actually require?

More than the median SDR performs. The Bridge Group’s 2025 research puts median daily activity at 112 touches, comprising 44 phone calls, 41 emails, 19 LinkedIn touches and 8 texts or other. Run that volume through published average conversion rates and it produces roughly 4 to 5 meetings a month, not 12.

That is the single most useful thing in this article, so here is the arithmetic in full.

Channel Median monthly volume Published average conversion Meetings per month
Phone 880 dials (44/day, 20 days) 5.4% connect, then 4.6% of conversations to a meeting 2.2
Email 820 sends (41/day, 20 days) 344 emails per meeting for the average rep 2.4
Combined 1,700 touches plus LinkedIn As above About 4.6
Volumes are The Bridge Group’s 2025 median daily activity across 351 B2B companies, multiplied by 20 working days. Conversion rates are Gong’s published averages across more than 300 million cold calls and more than 85 million cold emails. The arithmetic is ours. LinkedIn touches are excluded because no comparable published meeting-conversion rate exists for them.

Now run the same volume at top-quartile conversion. Gong measures a 13.3% connect rate and a 16.7% conversation-to-meeting rate in the top quartile, which turns 880 dials into about 18 meetings on the phone alone. The activity did not change. The list, the targeting and the conversation did.

This is why activity quotas and meeting quotas pull in opposite directions. A rep who needs 12 meetings and converts at average rates needs roughly 4,100 emails a month, which is five or more sending inboxes running continuously, or about 4,800 dials, which nobody makes. The realistic path to 12 is better conversion, not more volume. We laid out the send-volume side of this in how many emails it takes to book one meeting, and the reply-rate ceilings that cap it in what a good cold email reply rate looks like in 2026.

When should you judge a new SDR against the number?

Month four at the earliest. The Bridge Group puts median SDR ramp at 3.0 months, the fastest since 2010, and median tenure at 1.9 years. That leaves roughly 20 productive months out of a 23-month average stay, and the first three produce learning, not meetings.

Expect 8 to 10 booked in month four and full target from month five or six. Judging a rep in month two against a ramped number is how teams fire people who were about to work out.

Set the target with the attainment rate in mind as well. The Bridge Group’s 2025 round found 60% of reps at quota, the lowest in the study’s history across ten biennial rounds. A target that 60% of reps hit is roughly calibrated. A target that 90% hit is too low, and one that 30% hit will cost you the 1.9-year tenure figure.

What does each meeting cost at these volumes?

Between $728 and $1,365 per booked meeting for an in-house SDR, depending on where in the published range that rep lands. The fully loaded cost does not move with output, so the meeting count is the only variable that matters.

Meetings per month Meetings per year Cost per meeting at $131,000 Cost per meeting at $164,000
5 (median activity, average conversion) 60 $2,183 $2,733
8 (Optifai median, low end) 96 $1,365 $1,708
12 (Operatix held) 144 $910 $1,139
15 (Operatix booked) 180 $728 $911
18 (top decile) 216 $606 $759
Fully loaded annual SDR cost range from our own itemized breakdown, which builds on Bureau of Labor Statistics and Bridge Group compensation data. Assumes 12 productive months, which is generous given a 3.0-month ramp. Straight division, no ramp discount applied.

The top row and the bottom row differ by a factor of four and a half on the same salary. That spread is the actual risk in an SDR hire, and it is why the build-versus-buy question turns on conversion quality rather than headcount cost. We itemized the full salary, tooling and management load in the true cost of an SDR in 2026, ran the two paths side by side in in-house SDR versus outsourced SDR, and compared these figures against agency rates in the cost per meeting booked benchmark.

One caveat on the comparison. An in-house SDR calls, emails, works LinkedIn and sits in your pipeline reviews. A managed email program does one channel well. The per-meeting numbers are comparable; the scope is not, and anyone who tells you otherwise is selling one of the two.

How LeadButton handles this

We do not quote a meeting count before seeing the list and the category, because the published range for the same job runs from 2 to 25 a month and a number offered in advance is a sales tactic rather than a forecast. What we do commit to is reporting booked and held as two separate lines every week, so the no-show gap is visible instead of buried in one ratio, and sizing sending infrastructure from the meeting target rather than promising a target the infrastructure cannot support.

Launch is $1,500 a month for fully managed email outreach including the prospect list, sending infrastructure, domain warming and weekly reporting. Growth is $3,500 a month and adds LinkedIn, live agents working replies, CRM sync and booking straight into your calendar. Scale is custom. Billing is monthly with no minimum term, and at $1,500 a month a 10-meeting month is $150 per meeting against the $910 to $1,139 an in-house rep costs at the same output. The full breakdown is on the LeadButton pricing page.

Sources

Leave a Reply

Back home

Discover more from leadbutton.io

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading